Covering CES with a Chromebook wasn’t great, but it was possible

I covered a significant chunk of CES with a Chromebook 11. Here’s how it went.
Andrew Cunningham

When I’m on the road, the computer I usually take with me is my 13-inch MacBook Air. It’s loaded up with all my regular programs, the tools I need to process photos and video and assist with our liveblogs, and it runs both OS X and Windows so I can run and test basically anything I’d need to be able to test on the road.

For CES, I wanted to try something a little different. I still brought the MacBook Air because my experimentation can’t get in the way of me doing my job, but I decided a couple of weeks ago I’d try to cover the bulk of the show on an HP Chromebook 11. It’s not as harsh a challenge as Wired‘s Smartphone Thunderdome thing—I could use the Air if I wanted, but whenever possible I’d try to do everything I had to do within Chrome OS. This is what I took away from the experience.

Yes, specs matter

“Specs don’t matter, as long as you have enough of them.” Intel’s Mooly Eden said this to me during a meeting about the company’s RealSense 3D camera, and while it’s not a new sentiment, the Chromebook I had sleeping in my bag at the time really drove his point home.

Read 14 remaining paragraphs | Comments

via Ars Technica http://feeds.arstechnica.com/~r/arstechnica/index/~3/HIJPhh9n2Vg/

Leave a Reply

